new kid in town)

Today was quite a day.  My beloved, Patrick, has talked of having a horse of his own ever since moving to our farm last year.  I was skeptical about this because he has been in the saddle twice…but who am I to deny the man that supports me in this fine life, to which I have become accustomed?:)

I did not want another horse this year.  It is a lot of work maintaining two horses and to add one more was not appealing.  However, referring back to the fact that Pat is my sugar daddy, I recognized that perhaps I could send some sugar his way;)   Pat spent a couple of months on the internet researching horses for sale and after a false start, we found Dakota an 8 year old Palomino gelding.

Dakota is of the same breed as Mr.Ed and Trigger…0’k if you are under 40 you won’t get that reference…so just stay with me!  We thought that with any luck Dakota will be as genial and smart as his two famous predecessors.   Maybe a new kind of reality show?

We loaded Dakota on the trailer and he was nervous, the poor guy was leaving his herd of 8 years.  An uneventful unloading and walk to the pasture allayed our fears that he would not settle.  He was thrilled to find so much fresh grass.  My other two horses, looked up and said “what the?”…then went back to eating….which is what they do best!

After a few hours in the grass,  and a meet and greet by the water trough, we brought all 3 horses in for the night.  I felt like I had just brought home a new baby, and hoped that the other two children wouldn’t poke the baby in the eye!   Ah well, it is what it is.  I think that Redford may be a bit jealous of the new kid in town, and Bella is happy to see a new kid in town!  

They all seem to be standing taller, more alert with tails high.  Is it just me, or do we do that too when introduced to new people?

Comments

  1. Congratulations, Pat! Since you are now adding "horse" to your list of pets which includes "dog" and "cats", you should be aware of the following famous words of wisdom:A dog looks up to a man, a cat looks down on a man, but a patient horse looks a man in the eye and sees him as an equal.Happy trails!

Leave a Reply

