trauma provides opportunity for growth

Having lived 46 years with most of it surrounded and affected by trauma; it  gives me, I think, the ability to say with certainty, that trauma does provide opportunity for growth.  The caveat is whether or not one chooses to see beyond the immediate devastation of form, and self in order to access greater truths that which comes from our individual and collective humanity. If one follows to the depths of their individual trauma; seeking,feeling, acknowledging and finally blessing, the real truth will emerge: we are one.

When I see a young person without a home; I know it, and silently bless them.

When  I see families destroyed by addictions and violence; I know it, and silently bless them.

When I see natural disasters devastate property, homes and lives; I know it, and silently bless them.

When I see individuals struggling to stay the course: I know that too, and bless them.

I can’t say that I would have written my life this way, but it is as it is.  I have a profound depth of feeling for our common frailties. I also have a profound understanding and belief in our collective power.  The yin and yang of our existence.  No shame, no pretense either.

I LOVE THE LIFE I WAS BORN INTO…how does one become grateful for the joys in life without knowing the sadness?  My parents, the teachers, providing the role they never knew they had, given to them at birth: to carry the Grace and the Yoke.

The opportunity to be human, in all its forms, allows us to internalize our ONENESS.  I do not need to be a Palestinian to understand the grief and anger of displacement…I have lived it.  I do not need to be ” Wade Belak ” to understand the fragility of mental health,  I have come through it.  I can listen to Rwandan survivors and be saddened, angered and humbled all at the same time.  How?  We have many among us who have lived through great trauma in World Wars, genocide, violence and loss.  They are our leaders and inspiration.  They are at the grocery store, old age homes and shopping malls.  We can strengthen and extend our bonds of love by simply acknowledging the losses suffered by humanity.  Losses randomly inflicted by nature or cruelty of man.  With trauma all over the world, our calling is to bear witness.

These are the threads that weave us together.  For those traumatized in Goderich… I sit here, and quietly ask you all to accept what is and bless it.  Yes, Bless it.  It is not necessary to say “how” or “why” to Bless it, just the knowledge that there is purpose and it will be revealed.  This is not religious dogma.  This is what binds all of our religions together, our common spirituality, in whatever form.

Bless it.   From that one gesture, you will have moved towards healing and a feel a lingering scent of peace.

I offend people regularly with my candor.   I will warn you that you may not like this next comment.  I do not use the word “survivor” of the devastation to which I have been immersed.  I do not use the label “victim”.  I choose not to be a “fighter” for my life.  Trauma occurs in all life, it happens.  It happens whether we are good/bad rich or poor.  There are no boundaries to the machinations of life.

I have instead chosen a calmer path set before me, one of no resistance.  It is not to say that I am not an active participant in all that is!  I giver! when I am up for it, and the occasion arises, and find joy through the rhythm set before me.  It is a conscious decision to be mindful of the present…nothing more or less.  No room for recriminations and judgement for what is.  Empowerment and strength in acceptance.

This I know: our physical realms mirror our internal realm.  When the internal work is done, your physical world reflects it.

I wish Peace of mind, body and spirit for all of those experiencing trauma at this time….in whatever form.  Namaste.

Leave a Reply

